My Top 15 Books

Fifteen books I’ve read that will always stick with me:

1. The Alchemist (Paulo Coelho)
2. The Madman (Khalil Gibran)
3. Portrait of An Artist As A Young Man (James Joyce)
4. Negeri Senja (Seno Gumira Ajidarma)
5. Anak Bajang Menggiring Angin (Sindhunata)
6. Mahabharata (Nyoman S. Pendit)
7. Centhini (Elizabeth Inandiak)
8. Candrakirana (Ajip Rosidi)
9. Gairah untuk Hidup dan Mati (Nasjah Djamin)
10. Hujan Bulan Juni (Sapardi Djoko Damono)
11. Toto Chan: The Little Girl At The Window (Tetsuko Kuroyanagi)
12. The Valkyries (Paulo Coelho)
13. Around The World in 80 days (Jules Verne)
14. Trilogi Rara Mendut – Genduk Duku – Lusi Lindri (Y.B. Mangunwijaya)
15. The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy (Tim Burton)

#1, #5 were ‘gifts’ from a very precious person in the past
– #1 I treasured because it had changed my view of life: it was about life journey, encounter, wisdom, and the secret of universe
– #5, I swam deeper into his world when I read this. This book summed up his life.

#2 was my first Gibran’s book and I fell in love with his ‘wild’ thought yet centered around the truth, the beauty, and the madness of life.

#3, I could really relate myself with Stephen Dedalus (the main character). My mind wandered and really attracted to ‘suffering’ and ‘sadness, just like him. Also, I was mesmerized by the beauty of his words and how deep Joyce portrayed Dedalus’ struggle, compromising with the values of ‘right and wrong’ from the society and the wildness of his feeling and thought.

#4, #12, #13 I often found myself attracted to wanderers

#6, After watching Riri Riza’s “Drupadi”, I wanted to know more about Mahabharata epic so I bought this, but it turned out more than just a story. Up until now, I re-read this book several times and always try to contemplate based on the lesson of wisdom written there.

#7, #8;#14, basically I like reading tales, especially when the female character showed her strength, independence, and wit as a woman.

#9, contemplated thought, unresolved conflict, dilemma between what’s right and wrong in one of the most debatable topic in century: to stay alive facing shame and sadness or to die

#10, I felt his poems are very beautiful, simple, and down-to-earth. It’s what I need when I’m feeling dull or blue.

#11, because I miss my childhood, my innocence :p

#15, I like morbid stuff. That’s why I’m a dedicated great fan of Mr. Tim Burton :p

Tagged , ,

7 thoughts on “My Top 15 Books

  1. iin says:

    parah . semua buku lo ga ada yg pernah gue baca. i’m so lame. hahahaha
    kecuali hujan bulan juni Sapardi itu yang ada puisi :
    “aku ingin mencintaimu dgn sederhana.. blabla..” itu bukan? gue kira itu puisi doang..

    • iyooo itu salah satu puisinya Sapardi
      bagus yaaa
      masih ser2 lho baca puisi itu!

      btw, gue lumayan ga up to date lagi.
      Masa Twilight series itu gak gue baca! 😀

      • iin says:

        lah gue juga gak baca bok. mencoba baca twilight, eh ga kelar juga hahahahaa payah deh.
        gue lagi mau baca eat pray love nih tp ntr2 aja deh. yg lain di rumah masi ad bbrp yg blum dibaca hehe

  2. devieriana says:

    eh cuma mampir mau ngucapin Selamat Tahun Baru 2010 ya jeung..
    Wish you all the best..

  3. dari 15 buku itu, cuma toto chan yang pernah kubaca, hehehe….

Leave a Reply

